Just moved into my dorm.. | The Boneyard

Just moved into my dorm..

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Luckily i know a few people from my high school living right near me but does anyone have any tips on how to get less home sick? Ive been stressing out the past few days before my move in (im a freshman) and its really screwed up my stomach to the point where i feel like i cant even eat anything which just makes it worse. Sorry for the rant but i just feel miserable right now. I guess my question is, what can i do to make UConn feel more like home to me? I love UConn Basketball with a passion and have had season tickets my entire life, and i love to watch football soccer golf etc. Are there any good clubs to join specifically for those things?

Reaction Score
I just graduated from UConn a few years ago and here are a few tips for you for first few weeks:

- Talk to the people on your floor, EVERYONE is feeling the same way right now; homesick, nervous, and unsure of themselves. Just open up your door and start chatting, ask people what they are doing for lunch/dinner today.
- As far as sports go, get involved with the Men's Soccer team and the Goal Patrol! It's the student section for men's soccer and is considered one of the best in the country. The team is usually ranked pretty highly and the games are always fun. Goal patrol usually meets about 1 hour before the game starts at Gampel (at least they did a few years ago) and walk over together. Tickets are usually free or cost about $2. There's a game tonight against Boston College, go check it out!
- Get to know the campus! Just spend an afternoon wandering around, it may take a couple weeks, but once you find your way around and find "your spot" (where you study, hang out between classes, grab a cup of coffee, etc.), you will feel much more at home.