FINAL Gampel Court | Page 5 | The Boneyard

FINAL Gampel Court

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Good grief...

I studied for four years at UConn. I've read my fair share of novels, biographies, and non-fictional accounts of history and science. I've been to 39 of 50 states and D.C., as well as 6 foreign countries. My wife would tell you that I have more than enough trivial knowledge floating in my head to make a decent run at Ken Jennings' Jeopardy record. I don't think she is being literal, but I still consider myself to be somewhat astute.

The lay person is not at Gampel for the beauty of the roof (though they, like I, surely noticed the triangles that make up the dome). They are their for the beauty of the full court press, the fast break, the alley-oop, and the game winning 3 pointer.

I'm not trying to disparage the man, or alter your opinion of him or the roof. I am saying that not everyone shares your view. I am also suggesting that the Administration exhaust all routes in developing that solution.

With all that studying and all that travel you would think that you would have a better world-view, and a better appreciation for the art and true genius of a pioneer like Enzo Patoni. The fact that he graced UConn with his masterpiece at Gampel Pavillion...that we are able to witness great basketball while in the presence of one of the best artworks of our time is NOT something you should take lightly.

Reaction Score