Why does women's basketball seem to be more popular overseas than in the U.S.? | The Boneyard

Why does women's basketball seem to be more popular overseas than in the U.S.?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
You people are obviously more open-minded about women's basketball than the general public so I'm asking here.
I'm asking because of the situation in the WNBA where players have to go overseas in the off-season to earn the bigger money. I must confess that I'm new to following women's basketball and just really started seriously watching it this summer.

meyers7

You Talkin’ To Me?
Reaction Score
Well a few things. One I don't know if it is more popular. WNBA teams avg around 7000-10000 in attendance. Ekaterinburg for example (Bird, Taurasi play) arena only holds max 5000. However unlike the WNBA this club has been around since 1938.

Also many of these WBB clubs are just a part of a bigger club. Lot's of them have men's BB teams, Football, ice hockey in Russia, so losing money on the WBB is not really a big deal, they make the money on other things. Kind of like College Football subsidizing the smaller sports here in the States.

And unlike the States they don't really have the college system. So these club teams are it.

Also lot's of these clubs are owned by very wealthy people. Some who just like toys to play with. Lose a little money for Titles.

They earn more there, but I don't know if it necessarily more popular.

UcMiami

How it is
Reaction Score