The Day the Music Died | The Boneyard

The Day the Music Died

Bama fan

" As long as you lend a hand"
Reaction Score
With all the Cincy angst and the Super Bowl hoopla, I neglected to post this yesterday. February 3, 1959 was the date of the Iowa plane crash that killed Buddy Holly, The Big Bopper, and Ritchie Valens. Famously referred to by some as the day the music died in an iconic song by Don McLean, it hardly seems 60 years ago.

meyers7

You Talkin’ To Me?
Reaction Score
With all the Cincy angst and the Super Bowl hoopla, I neglected to post this yesterday. February 3, 1959 was the date of the Iowa plane crash that killed Buddy Holly, The Big Bopper, and Ritchie Valens. Famously referred to by some as the day the music died in an iconic song by Don McLean, it hardly seems 60 years ago.

donalddoowop

Who put the Bop in the Bop Shoo Bop?
Reaction Score
I was a freshman in college when a friend gave me the news after a class.

Reaction Score

Think what rock music might've been like if he had not gone on that plane ride...

Boxerpups4me

Semper Paratus
Reaction Score
After they played that winter dance party, buddy was carrying around a suitcase full of cash and was carrying a gun for protection..there were rumors a fight broke out on board the plane and buddy accidentally shot the pilot in the back. That didnt happen..a couple months after the plane wreckage was cleaned up, a farmer found buddy's gun and shot one round into the air, and that was why one bullet was missing..also, the big bopper was thrown from the plane quite a distance and every bone in his body was literally shattered, so there was no way he crawled or stumbled or was even alive aftet the crash. They couldnt find the pilot at first, but finally realized his body was rolled up with the wreckage, as for holly and valens, they suffered gruesome injuries as well

Last edited:

Carnac

That venerable sage from the west
Reaction Score