NBA Travelling | The Boneyard

NBA Travelling

Icehawk

TFG
Reaction Score
They don't call ball carries at all either in the NCAA (although I actually did see one this year OMG), I mean if your hand is all the way under the ball... I'll assume NBA is just as bad.

Reaction Score
I’ve been saying this for a couple of years now. The NBA is worse but they don’t call it in college either. I watched Newton take at least 3 steps twice on Saturday without a call. The Gtown kid did it too. Clingan does it all the time. They really should just change the rule to allow up to 4 steps. Of course then guys would take 5 and they wouldn’t call that. Problem started when they allowed the “Eurostep”. That loosened the rule. Now they just don’t call anything. You almost have to ride a motorcycle down the court for a call!

Huskyforlife

Akokbouk
Reaction Score
I'd argue the game is more entertaining with less traveling calls. The only one I hate is Hardens 4 step stepback, for the life of me I'll never understand how that isn't blatant traveling.

Reaction Score
Problem started when they allowed the “Eurostep”. That loosened the rule.

The Euro-step isn't loosening any rule. It's by the book completely. This take is silly. The issue is referees not calling obvious travels--especially on the stars.

Reaction Score
It has to do more with bad officiating especially when the referee is in position to make the call. You count your steps after the gather and establish the pivot. I respect more FIBA and NCAA officials as they’re less bias.

Reaction Score
The Euro-step isn't loosening any rule. It's by the book completely. This take is silly. The issue is referees not calling obvious travels--especially on the stars.
They changed the rule to accommodate it in 2009. Now it is within the rules. The NBA allowed 2 steps after, that’s key, receiving the ball. Pre 2009 that wasn’t the rule.

Reaction Score