OT: USA Best and Worst Monument/Historical/Tourist Site | The Boneyard

OT: USA Best and Worst Monument/Historical/Tourist Site

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Got traveling plans this summer and I know I'm not alone but here's mine:

Best: Grand Canyon (overwhelmed me), can't describe it.

Worst: The Alamo. Stayed in a hotel down the street, went walking one afternoon and 'bumped' into it. It appeared smaller than my house and easy to miss. Not sure what I expected but once there is enough.

Reaction Score
Those are good ones- I agree with both! I graduated from UT and my whole family made the trip from the tri-state area and the trip to the Alamo was one of the big plans- we quickly left and headed for an early happy hour!

Thinking of others:

Best: Yosemite
Worst: Old Faithful at Yellowstone

Underrated park: The Adirondacks

Curiouser
Reaction Score
Definitely agree that The Alamo was the most disappointing. It leaves you with one inevitable question: WTF were they thinking?!?

I think seeing Denali has probably been the most majestic, awe-inspiring thing I've experienced in this country in terms of wonderment at a national attraction. The psychedelic and other-worldly Northern Lights show we experienced in the park would be number one, but that's not a thing, and I soon learned that what we saw was a lifetime-best for my best friend, who has now lived there more than 25 years, so I guess you can't count on that. Seeing grizzlies is pretty damned intense, too. So...what I'm saying is get to Alaska!

Grand Canyon was very cool. But the feeling I had when it was finally clear enough for us to see the peak of Denali, and I realized that I had been aiming my gaze about 40° too low when trying to see it through the clouds previously, tops all for me. So far.

Although not a national attraction, I feel compelled to go to Machu Picchu because I have a feeling that the awe factor is pretty high there, too.

Reaction Score