Memories of a forgotten but impactful game | The Boneyard

Memories of a forgotten but impactful game

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
The 1987 WCBB Final Four was held in Austin, and Texas was a strong favorite to repeat as national champions. They had a talent advantage in every game they played, started two All-Americans, and had lost only one game since the beginning of the prior season. I was a student at UT at the time, and attended the national semifinal, which was a sellout. Texas' opponent in that game was Louisiana Tech. This was the most compelling basketball game I have seen in person. It was clear to my eyes that Texas had a favorable matchup at every position except point guard, where La Tech had Teresa Weatherspoon. Texas should have won the game comfortably, except La Tech had an extraordinary shooting performance. It seemed that they made almost every shot they put up in the second half, and finished the game shooting 58% from the floor. It came down to La Tech having a 2 point lead with about 10 seconds left. Texas' point guard ran a play to the right where she had a chance for an open 10 foot jumper; she opted to pass the ball to the player to her right, but the pass was deflected and recovered by a La Tech player who was immediately fouled. She made her free throws and then the clock ran out. The only sound or movement in the building was from the celebrating of the La Tech players. For everyone else, it was hard to believe.