Future Big East football picture? | The Boneyard

Future Big East football picture?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Here's something I threw together based on what I can find out about what happened today.

Two divisions of football - throw geography out the window - it already is. I'm arbitrarily setting up these lineups. I have no knowledge of any actual divisional alignments that were discussed. But I understand that one of the many ideas, was to showcase the actual national reach of the conference now, and split up the paired teams in regions, and i think it makes a lot of sense.

Call them Red and Blue divisions.

5 games in division - and 3 cross division.

Red:
UConn
USF
Louisville
Memphis
SMU
Boise St

Blue:
University New Jersey
UCF
Cincinatti
Temple
Houston
San Diego State.

5 games in division, 3 cross. Cross games are the local games, and local teams to each other would play annually. SDSU v. Boise would be a cross divisional game.....SMU v. Houston cross division, UCF v USF - cross division. UConn v. Rutgers....etc. .

Adds more value to regular season games.

Winners of each division matchup for a championship game to be held at home field of team with best overall record, which is why local/proximity games - (i.e. SMU v. Houston) would be valueable, b/c the team with te best overall record hosts the championship game at their home.

By hosting the championship game at home, rather than neutral site, the best team in the conference has the least likelihood of getting knocked out of a national playoff picture.

Makes sense to me.

Reaction Score
i think boise/sdsu/smu/houston are going to have to play each other every year, just too much travel for those schools if they dont

Dann

#4hunnid
Reaction Score
byu/ and make it east and west. bsu and uh can hold up the west and the east is a yearly tossup unless cincy explodes as a program.

Reaction Score