OT: - Work From Home | Page 4 | The Boneyard

OT: Work From Home

Reaction Score
I don't miss working at the office one bit. I am a software developer. I started working from home after moving to Florida in October since most of the people I work with are in India, Utah, Colorado and Tennessee. So I didn't have to worry about work relationships since they were pretty weak anyway. There was some initial resistance from my manager at first which was ridiculous since he works remotely from New Hampshire. COVID has made those type of arguments moot.

The only time we saw each other, except for the folks in India, was 2 to 3 days every 10 weeks for planning. We have not had planning sessions other than zoom since January. It may never happen again since we get just as much done without the company expense.

I'm an old timer so working from home is fine with me and I will be happy to do that until I retire. I used to enjoy having workmates as friends, drinking buddies and athletic teammates but those days are long gone anyway. I used to crack a beer during the workday but I haven't done that in months either since the novelty wore off

Reaction Score
anyone else work in manufacturing or similar? I've been at the office/shop throughout the pandemic and don't see a point where I would do otherwise. My role is such that I have the ability to work from home when I feel like it, but generally I like/need to be hands-on with production equipment (CNC mills, lathes, 3D printers, molds, dies, etc)

For engineers (mechanical specifically...not too sure about other fields) I see a big split between the CAD jockeys and the guys that actually get involved with the equipment. Going back to the whole future of college discussion I see a big shift in terms of career path, where if you want the ability to work from home go to college. If you're not too concerned about that go to a trade school.

Reaction Score