OT: - Wi-Fi question | The Boneyard

OT: Wi-Fi question

Reaction Score
A teacher here preparing for the advent of the return from e-learning:

Last school year, my wife and I (both teachers) managed fine during e-learning. However, living in a 1200 square foot house, we'd like to find some separation between work and home life.

My wife rents out an art studio in town that we are planning on doubling as a work office during e-learning. The studio is in an old house without any internet or cable connection.

Anyone with experience of wifi options that do not require any major hardware installation that is also strong enough to host zoom meetings? I've read a bit about mobile hotspots and it sounds like none of these are good options for Zoom hosting, but good alternatives for regular internet connectivity for simple work tasks like email, etc.

Reaction Score
I am a teacher as well. For my district for the students who don't have internet at home, the district is getting those kids the Verizon Mifi hub to use for as long as we are on a hybrid schedule.

Look into those as long as your Verizon signal is good at your art studio it should be good, but I believe there is a bandwith cap on speed. So it might not be worth it.

Reaction Score
I am a teacher as well. For my district for the students who don't have internet at home, the district is getting those kids the Verizon Mifi hub to use for as long as we are on a hybrid schedule.

Look into those as long as your Verizon signal is good at your art studio it should be good, but I believe there is a bandwith cap on speed. So it might not be worth it.
I’ve used those for trade shows years ago and they were passable. I think most carriers have a 30 day return policy. If so why not get one and try it. If it works great. If not return it

VA Blue Dog

VA Blue Dog
Reaction Score