Martha’s Vineyard boating | The Boneyard

Martha’s Vineyard boating

Reaction Score
I’m new to boating, currently have a 24 foot boat in Falmouth on Cape Cod. Any ideas on where good fishing is, or good places to drop anchor welcome. We’d like to go to Martha’s vineyard. Apparently you can use a mooring at Oak Bluffs, but up to 4 boats may use the same mooring. Anyone have any experience with that, and where to find out the proper way to tie up to other boats? And how to leave when you have boats on both sides?

Curiouser
Reaction Score
This should explain it:

Call the Oak Bluffs Harbormaster with any questions: (508) 693-4355. If it's still Todd Alexander, he's a really good guy and should be able to explain anything.

Reaction Score
How new to boating are you? You may want to get some experience locally before going out on your 24' boat to Martha vineyard

I was around boats quite a bit growing up. I have taken classes on the basics. This is my first boat and the area is new. The boat will handle most conditions I'd try (wind < 12, seas <= 2ft) between here (Falmouth) and Martha's Vineyard. So far we've been from Hyannis down past Woods Hole with no problems. Seems to be a lot of boats around our size or smaller. My wife is getting tired of just driving around, wants to spend some time on Martha's Vineyard, ...

Reaction Score
I was around boats quite a bit growing up. I have taken classes on the basics. This is my first boat and the area is new. The boat will handle most conditions I'd try (wind < 12, seas <= 2ft) between here (Falmouth) and Martha's Vineyard. So far we've been from Hyannis down past Woods Hole with no problems. Seems to be a lot of boats around our size or smaller. My wife is getting tired of just driving around, wants to spend some time on Martha's Vineyard, ...