ACL: Pre-op, post op, rehab, and return | The Boneyard

ACL: Pre-op, post op, rehab, and return

Reaction Score
So-

I have some questions about the medical part of the ACL tear. How can some people have surgery so soon after a torn ACL, like Paige having her surgery Friday and it seems that some people have to wait a few weeks? Does it have to do with the nature of the injury or is it because some people do other damage to their knee as well?

What's a rehab schedule like? For instance, how long is one on crutches? I notice that Christyn is already off her crutches and it's been about 8 weeks since she had surgery. Is that normal? From there, what's rest of the rehab like?

Then, to come back-are there strength tests to advance to the next stage in your rehab?

Anyone have any information or a good article I can read?

Reaction Score
I have no firsthand knowledge, but I'm under the impression that swelling has a lot to do with how soon surgery can be performed. Not just for ACLs, but for other injuries as well. Anyone have better info? Do we have a real orthopedic surgeon on the BY?

Reaction Score
I have no firsthand knowledge, but I'm under the impression that swelling has a lot to do with how soon surgery can be performed. Not just for ACLs, but for other injuries as well. Anyone have better info? Do we have a real orthopedic surgeon on the BY?
I agree, Skeets. Everything I've heard and read says the swelling has to go down before they can do the surgery, regardless of the type of injury.

TRest

Horrible
Reaction Score
I waited 20 years to have mine done so no swelling. She may ave had a clean break of the ligament and it will be entirely removed and replaced with a cadaver’s or what I had done, cutting a swatch of my hamstring to fashion a new one the body won’t reject. I was non-weight bearing for about 8 weeks but PT started before I was off crutches. For a young world class athlete all schedules can probably be accelerated.

Reaction Score