Women's NIT | The Boneyard

Women's NIT

Status
Not open for further replies.

EricLA

Cronus
Reaction Score
I guess there are reasons but if I was a coach I would wanna play the games and win a NIT championship!!
I don't know if i've ever heard of a team turning down a NIT bid. Did those teams really think they deserved a NCAA Bid?

Reaction Score
I don't know if i've ever heard of a team turning down a NIT bid. Did those teams really think they deserved a NCAA Bid?
Pretty sure UNC turned down one several years ago. Hatchell said the NCAA was the only goal every year.
Also sometimes teams have a bunch of injuries and decide it's better to end things now.

MilfordHusky

Voice of Reason
Reaction Score
Teams have turned down NIT bids. I think at least one did this year. Some teams think that the NIT/WNIT is beneath them. For example, given Tennessee's history, if they had missed the big dance, they might have turned down the WNIT.

Generally speaking, I think turning down the NIT/WNIT is a bad idea. For teams with seniors, it extends their careers and gives them a shot at getting to play in MSG. For young teams, it can provide a springboard for the future. The UConn men and other men's teams have used it as such.

UcMiami

How it is
Reaction Score
Rutgers also turned one down one of the last years of the old big east - she followed up by accepting the next one, but she was really POed when they didn't get the NCAA bid. It one one of those years when their OOC included something like 10 of the top 25 teams and they ended the year with a lot of losses but some good wins as well and a really good RPI.

Reaction Score
They absolutely thought they deserved an NCAA bid, they just didn't earn it.

ochoopsfan

OC Hoops Fan
Reaction Score
Two west coast teams I thought would be in it were USC and UC Davis. Not sure if they turned down bids or not.
USC beat 4 teams in the NCAA tournament this season(W.Va, Iona, Albany and UCLA)