OT - rant 1 - spelling | The Boneyard

OT - rant 1 - spelling

Status
Not open for further replies.

KnightBridgeAZ

Grand Canyon Knight
Reaction Score
OK - I don't believe in the spelling and grammar police, in fact I'm not a great speller!

But when things are written for public consumption, what has happened to our pride in presenting documents, signage and such where the words are spelled correctly? I am increasingly seeing misspellings in:

- books - yes, published, non-fiction books. Most recently, a Civil War history and a book of "odd facts" about our presidents. I'll add that there was a rather glaring error in the Presidential book as-well, basically confusing (switching) the two Roosevelts in one of the "facts". And I have been noting this sort of thing for several years.
- signage - often the subject of humor (I saw a facebook post about the "Angus Beef" sign with the "g" missing) but we are doing "Road Wark" near where I live, and again, numerous examples have been seen.
- newspapers and magazines are not exempt either.

I am exempting "posters" on things like Facebook, although, if you are a business or famous person you ought to also make sure you get it right.

Or am I hopelessly old-fashioned to think that spelling - or more accurately, proof reading - matters?

UcMiami

How it is
Reaction Score