mlb vs nba | Page 2 | The Boneyard

mlb vs nba

Status
Not open for further replies.

Husky25

Dink & Dunk beat the Greatest Show on Turf.
Reaction Score
Agree here having played both extensively baseball is harder but not by a lot. That little white thing sitting there isn't as easy as it looks when you watch the pro's………the baseball is easy to hit when you know what's being thrown to you I think it's the ability to be quick, keep your hands back when a guy throwing 97 decides to throw an 87 wrinkle up to the plate…….that's where separation of baseball player to pro begins……….
I play(ed) both as well and golf is easier to pick than baseball. I didn't swing a gold club until I graduated high school because a golf and baseball swing are two completely different techniques and I didn't want to F up my baseball swing until I no longer competed in an organized league. Not only is hitting a baseball harder than hitting a golf ball (as you admit), it is not the only skill involved in the game. As you point out incessantly, there's throwing, catching, and running for anyone not named David Ortiz. Sure, you have to know distances, what club to use, and your own ability etc., but at the end of the day, you walk up to the ball and swing.

This is also anecdotal, but illustrates my point a little further: My brother didn't play baseball after Little League in part due to the increase volume of breaking balls in Pony League and Babe Ruth League. He was forced to quit soccer and basketball a couple years later because of bad knees, but he picked up golf in his late 20's and within a season or so (and after a few lessons) was shooting in the mid 80's (I'm not so lucky, I still have a baseball swing and golf feels very awkward after 12 years of baseball).

Reaction Score