Can We Try Again? | The Boneyard

Can We Try Again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cabbie191

Jonathan Husky on a date with Holi
Reaction Score
I'm still interested in hearing from posters about experiences they have about what recruiters say when trying to get a prospect to come to their program.

caramel

A potential star is born from the dust over time
Reaction Score
I have no experience being recruited,but,I had gone to school with a professional football player,a professional baseball player that gave me some insight as to what goes on.Some coaches try to promise anything that the person wants to hear,to get them to sign on with their institution.There is a lot of pressure to get top talent,and win,and some coaches get fanatical in their recruitment.One of my high school mates became all pro in the NFL(now retired),and he had the most pressure put on him where to sign.Some coaches were like a gnat,always calling or emailing. The best coaches,like Geno,where just honest and true to their words.My classmate in this case,chose Miami as his college pick,partly because there was no cake and ice cream offered to him.He had to earn his playing time,starting spot,etc.Coaches that are up front and forthright are the exception,depending on their success and history,usually.Again,Geno is one of the coaches that is totally up front and honest with each recruit from day one,and is consistent in that style.Of course his and the teams success doesn't hurt,but,there is nothing that is not done with integrity,honesty,passion,and professionalism by Geno and his staff.

KnightBridgeAZ

Grand Canyon Knight
Reaction Score
In certain ways, it is a yucky business, after all you are trying to appeal to teenage girls in WBB, at least.

I think most schools that think they have a chance keep up the contact as much as is allowable (obviously, a few schools have over-done that); coaches make appearances at high school games to show their interest even after players sign.