4th of July Movies | The Boneyard

4th of July Movies

Reaction Score
I've been posting a list for several years. This list is the previous list as best as I remember.
1. Drums Along the Mohawk-early Technicolor, John Ford story set on the Western frontier during the Revolutionary War, The West was Western New York. This is a personal favorite for over 60 years.

2. The Grapes of Wrath: John Ford's adaptation of Steinbeck's book, IMO one of the truly great American
films. It follows the Joad family from Oklahoma to California as they leave the Dust Bowl to look for a
better life.

3. Glory- The story of an all Black regiment in the Civil War, the officers were white the NCO's and enlisted
men all Black. Denzel Washington won an Academy Award .

4. The Longest Day- Derryl Zanuck's adaptation of Cornelius Ryan's book. This is D-day with thousands of extras and a galaxy of stars. It is told from multiple points of view. If you are a history buff; it is well worth
buying the two disc version.

5. Yankee Doodle Dandy- George M. Cohan biopic starring Jimmy Cagney. Cohan composed Yankee Doodle
Dandy, Give My Regards to Broadway and many more.

6. Moscow on the Hudson- It stars Robin Williams as a sax playing Russian who defects from the Moscow Circus in Bloomingdales. Funny and touching it uses a variety of melting pot characters to attempt to define
what being an American is all about.

7. Mr. Smith Goes to Washington: Frank Capra and Jimmy Stewart combine in a stirring film set in the
U.S. Senate with Stewart mounting a one man fillabuster to expose corruption.

8. October Sky- This is a true story about a group of WV high school boys who build a rocket to enter in
a National Science Fair.

9. Field of Dreams-"If you build it, they will come." Great cast does justice to this fantasy of old time baseball
players appearing in a corn field in Iowa.

I'm sure that the first six were in last year's list, but all nine are worthy of repeated viewings. I will follow